September 8th, 2013, 14:49
Posts: 476
Threads: 22
Joined: Apr 2011
65. Production is actually 10.5 I have not decided what to do in this case. Should I draw half-a-hammer, or should i round the production? It was a goal to make food/gold/production not rounding for more accuracy, so Im inclined to go towards halfahamer, or a small hammer perhaps.
66. fixed
67. This is a low priority task. If someone had all texts in an easy to parse format, id appresciate it....
68. this is planned to be done right after minerals
69. this is planned to be done very soon
71. fixed
72. fixed
73. is on the plan
74. ill add error handling to this later
78 noted for later fix
79 noted for later fix
September 8th, 2013, 17:58
(This post was last modified: September 8th, 2013, 17:59 by WhiteMage.)
Posts: 634
Threads: 13
Joined: Nov 2010
(September 8th, 2013, 14:49)VM Wrote: 65. Production is actually 10.5 I have not decided what to do in this case. Should I draw half-a-hammer, or should i round the production? It was a goal to make food/gold/production not rounding for more accuracy, so Im inclined to go towards halfahamer, or a small hammer perhaps. I remember that you and I discussed rounding before. I recommended rounding to the nearest 1000th. This makes arithmetic easy, the error negligible, and production mircomanagement useless. Carrying over leftover production to next turn is very important. Showing partial picture in graphics is a low priority (migh as well give it up). Round graphical icon to the nearest integer, so only show 1 or 0 for the last one (hammer etc.), whichever is closer. In final version, a hover over by mouse should show the 1000th in numeric format in addition to the icon, but low priority now.
September 9th, 2013, 11:42
Posts: 634
Threads: 13
Joined: Nov 2010
After further thinking about rounding production, I think it would be best to round each city’s production in each turn probabilistically. Say 2.43 production is rounded to 2 with 57% and to 3 with 43%. This could be displayed in graphics as a last gray (“unknown”) hammer icon. Only roll probabilities after the player clicks “end turn”. Due to Central Limit Theorem it will be an average over the long run and reMOM is a long game. This should work perfectly for the many needs of reMOM for production, money, and mana. Food is a bigger concern, since it has major effect if the roll is bad in 1 turn (in MOM, food was the only resource that could not be stockpiled). I think that the best is to allow all food fractions that were rounded up to create a “food reserve”, which can be used as needed later if a single turn produces insufficient food. We should only stockpile rounded up food to stay close to MOM.
September 9th, 2013, 21:42
(This post was last modified: September 9th, 2013, 21:44 by WhiteMage.)
Posts: 634
Threads: 13
Joined: Nov 2010
Test of remom_2013_sept_9.zip
I tested with 2 computers: an XPS730X with Windows Vista and a Dell Latitude D830 with Windows 7.
Main observation: my earlier reported “77.” point continues to be a problem. This time it crashed on the XPS (server), not on the Dell Latitude.
81. The game crashed at 10:29PM on the XPS. Yet, 4 files (reMOM.exe. and the 3 reMOM*.dll) showed 10:37PM (future time) for “Date modified” immediately.
Which files shall I upload/email?
September 10th, 2013, 08:25
Posts: 476
Threads: 22
Joined: Apr 2011
Any and all log files.
I find it rather weird that the exe and dlls are modified. Check for virii, because i dont |touch the files myself. Have you tried the release or the debug version?
September 10th, 2013, 12:54
Posts: 634
Threads: 13
Joined: Nov 2010
Test of remom_2013_sept_9.zip
I tested with 2 computers: Dell Latitude D830 with Windows 7 (server) and Dell Optiplex 755 with Windows 7 (client).
82. As a unit made a move on one computer, the other computer showed that unit on the right side. This is OK for now while game is in development. In final version it should not be shown.
83. Each time a unit was told to move, it lagged about 1 second, which will be considered too long for Alpha.
84. I was able to play until the 2 players found each other. SUCCESS!
85. Once the first battle started, the battle screen showed up and the units were in it. OK.
86. When I made the first move in the batlle, the game crased. I emailed you the logs.
I will investigate my XPS computer.
(September 10th, 2013, 08:25)VM Wrote: Have you tried the release or the debug version?
I clicked “Download remom_2013_sept_9.zip (2.6 MB)”, which I think is the release version. I could not find the debug version there. Could you make it more visible? Also name it with a different file name. When I report I always report file name first. It should be clear, you should not have to ask.
September 11th, 2013, 01:23
Posts: 476
Threads: 22
Joined: Apr 2011
The debug version should be in the zip under a folder called debug
September 11th, 2013, 01:25
Posts: 476
Threads: 22
Joined: Apr 2011
Next time ill upload the debug version only, then there is no confusion. I am not concerning myself with optimisation at this stage anyway, thats a step after feature-completeness.
September 11th, 2013, 10:42
Posts: 634
Threads: 13
Joined: Nov 2010
(September 11th, 2013, 01:25)VM Wrote: The debug version should be in the zip under a folder called debug When I go to http://sourceforge.net/projects/vismaior.u/files/ and click “zip” (folder) it shows 4 zip files under that. None of those are debug. I clicked every single link and still can’t find it.
(September 11th, 2013, 01:25)VM Wrote: I am not concerning myself with optimisation at this stage anyway, thats a step after feature-completeness. I agree. However, remember FreeCiv? So extensive programming and so many players, but the game is lagging bad due to inefficient coding, even in single player. Better not go that route.
September 11th, 2013, 14:09
Posts: 476
Threads: 22
Joined: Apr 2011
nonono, if you unzip it, THEN youll have the debug folder. Nevermind tough, as I have found the problem with the help of the logs.
|