November 21st, 2020, 17:31
Posts: 7,602
Threads: 75
Joined: Jan 2018
About creating 52x52 maps or any other size:
1. Start a game with map almost the size you want
2. Go into worldbuilder and save that map there
3. Open that worldbuilder file with any text editor
4. In there look for "BeginMap" and this section
Code: BeginMap
grid width=104
grid height=64
top latitude=90
bottom latitude=-90
wrap X=1
wrap Y=0
world size=WORLDSIZE_HUGE
climate=CLIMATE_TEMPERATE
sealevel=SEALEVEL_MEDIUM
num plots written=6656
num signs written=0
Randomize Resources=false
EndMap
5. Change the grid width and grid height sections to what you want
6. The section after this is the "Plot Info" section. Here you find every tile of the map represented with their X and Y coordinate.
7. You now have to add or remove tiles according to what you changed width and height to. Beware the tiles are counted from 0, so looking at aboves example the plot info with the highest x value is 103.
Take aboves example let's say we reduced width to 103 and height to 65. We now have to remove all plot infos with x=103 (easily found at the end of the list) and we need to add new plots for y=64 at the appropiated points in the file. You will quickly see that adjusting the x values is a lot easier then the y.
Also there might be a tool somewhere, that can do this for you, but I can't remember the name of it.
November 21st, 2020, 17:48
Posts: 1,902
Threads: 7
Joined: Apr 2020
(November 21st, 2020, 17:31)Charriu Wrote: About creating 52x52 maps or any other size:
1. Start a game with map almost the size you want
2. Go into worldbuilder and save that map there
3. Open that worldbuilder file with any text editor
4. In there look for "BeginMap" and this section
Code: BeginMap
grid width=104
grid height=64
top latitude=90
bottom latitude=-90
wrap X=1
wrap Y=0
world size=WORLDSIZE_HUGE
climate=CLIMATE_TEMPERATE
sealevel=SEALEVEL_MEDIUM
num plots written=6656
num signs written=0
Randomize Resources=false
EndMap
5. Change the grid width and grid height sections to what you want
6. The section after this is the "Plot Info" section. Here you find every tile of the map represented with their X and Y coordinate.
7. You now have to add or remove tiles according to what you changed width and height to. Beware the tiles are counted from 0, so looking at aboves example the plot info with the highest x value is 103.
Take aboves example let's say we reduced width to 103 and height to 65. We now have to remove all plot infos with x=103 (easily found at the end of the list) and we need to add new plots for y=64 at the appropiated points in the file. You will quickly see that adjusting the x values is a lot easier then the y.
Also there might be a tool somewhere, that can do this for you, but I can't remember the name of it.
What happens if i put the grid into 52 and i just dont do the 7th step? It seems too hard work
November 21st, 2020, 18:05
Posts: 7,602
Threads: 75
Joined: Jan 2018
Easy the game crashes on loading the map.
November 21st, 2020, 18:14
Posts: 1,902
Threads: 7
Joined: Apr 2020
I thought it would have a "random destroy of tiles" security thing. Unlucky hahaha.
November 21st, 2020, 18:21
Posts: 7,602
Threads: 75
Joined: Jan 2018
You are expecting too much from this 16 year old code. It's more like this:
November 21st, 2020, 18:31
Posts: 1,902
Threads: 7
Joined: Apr 2020
(November 21st, 2020, 18:21)Charriu Wrote: You are expecting too much from this 16 year old code. It's more like this:
![[Image: 8enervg2wjo51.jpg]](https://i.redd.it/8enervg2wjo51.jpg) Programming is just too much for me. I tried some qBasic in a 80s computer but its not made for me. I also tried some Lego mindstorm more recently and i enjoyed hard the mechanical part but programming was just a pain for my brain hehehe
November 22nd, 2020, 05:33
Posts: 1,902
Threads: 7
Joined: Apr 2020
Turn 22
ElGrillo grew and we took BW.
We have 2 copper 3 tiles away from capitol ,the thing is what are we going to pick? none of them got a lot of food. The west one could work if we make the city D next to the caw as i though in first instance but then we loose all we thougth about that city with so many caw. On the East the problem would be food until we expand borders to grab the fish, but it doesnt look as bad city as before.
Also ive been thinking about the copper of ruff, knowing our history on PB54 he might want to pick it asap, so a second city next to the corn would be grat for him, the thing is the following, what if we make city 3 on second position? we would lose so much things (gold of TR,growing speed...), its true, but on the other hand we might warranty a lot of space and screw a bit ruff. Not sure if it could be worth. If he makes that second city we couldnt get that 3rd city and that would be very painful i think.
Also the scout found another sea, so it seems we are in a screwed situation, unable to circunnavigate until we make other city in the outside. I think its a donut map thing.
Finally demos, we are really bad on GNP
November 22nd, 2020, 08:29
Posts: 1,177
Threads: 12
Joined: Apr 2016
Glad that the explanation helped.
I think we should stick to the plan with the first settler even if I agree that the spot you marked is a likely second city for him with a 6 food tile and copper. It is essential for tech, growth and conserving worker labor. We are not sure we will miss out on city 3 as with Ruffs slow religion first start he may not have bronze working in time to know that it is there. Even if we try to deny copper to him it probably wont work, we have 2 copper close to us so I would assume the same is true for Ruff.
Options are:
1) Settle the third city for bronze even if it is bad for our development/landgrab.
The copper locations are not ideal for us as you pointed out. The western copper cant be settled first ring with other food than taking the capitals plains cow unless we settle on the forest which I think claims too little land/resources. It also blocks better spots like D. The original city A is a good spot after it has popped borders but would have nothing to work until we get a workboat there which is not soon given our tech path.
The eastern copper is better as city F is better placed longterm. With a border pop it gets both a cow and a fish for a really good city but not. If we go for it as city 3 then we should chop and mine the copper into a monument. Still a bit slow and needing a workboat which is not ideal. We could also settle the hill north of F to get copper and cow first ring. This is better as a city 3 I think. However, then we can only reasonably get the fish by moving the island city 1 N.
2) Wait for our capitol to expand borders turn 50. This is not ideal but if we get a good horse location when we get AH round 31 we can use chariots to defend from any axes coming our way. Then I would be ok with waiting. A stack of axes and spears would be bad though but it is not very likely before turn 50. We can also tech archery, but that also delays us to important economic techs.
I would decide after we see the horses on turn 31. I do not see any danger of a super-early axe from Ruff due to his tech path but it might be prudent to use the scout to get forewarning if Mjmd try anything as he already has bronze working.
November 22nd, 2020, 10:33
Posts: 1,902
Threads: 7
Joined: Apr 2020
(November 22nd, 2020, 08:29)chumchu Wrote: Glad that the explanation helped.
I think we should stick to the plan with the first settler even if I agree that the spot you marked is a likely second city for him with a 6 food tile and copper. It is essential for tech, growth and conserving worker labor. We are not sure we will miss out on city 3 as with Ruffs slow religion first start he may not have bronze working in time to know that it is there. Even if we try to deny copper to him it probably wont work, we have 2 copper close to us so I would assume the same is true for Ruff.
Options are:
1) Settle the third city for bronze even if it is bad for our development/landgrab.
The copper locations are not ideal for us as you pointed out. The western copper cant be settled first ring with other food than taking the capitals plains cow unless we settle on the forest which I think claims too little land/resources. It also blocks better spots like D. The original city A is a good spot after it has popped borders but would have nothing to work until we get a workboat there which is not soon given our tech path.
The eastern copper is better as city F is better placed longterm. With a border pop it gets both a cow and a fish for a really good city but not. If we go for it as city 3 then we should chop and mine the copper into a monument. Still a bit slow and needing a workboat which is not ideal. We could also settle the hill north of F to get copper and cow first ring. This is better as a city 3 I think. However, then we can only reasonably get the fish by moving the island city 1 N.
2) Wait for our capitol to expand borders turn 50. This is not ideal but if we get a good horse location when we get AH round 31 we can use chariots to defend from any axes coming our way. Then I would be ok with waiting. A stack of axes and spears would be bad though but it is not very likely before turn 50. We can also tech archery, but that also delays us to important economic techs.
I would decide after we see the horses on turn 31. I do not see any danger of a super-early axe from Ruff due to his tech path but it might be prudent to use the scout to get forewarning if Mjmd try anything as he already has bronze working.
I would still try to settle there city 3, i think ruff is not going to rush us, he usually plays passive at least is what i saw. Im scared of Mjmd but i guess having copper on turn 50 should be fine, in orther to defensive purposes i would get archery after sailing as latest.
November 23rd, 2020, 03:17
Posts: 1,902
Threads: 7
Joined: Apr 2020
turn 23
Jowy and Noble both cre just took some points of culture. Lazteuq Amica and Civac just grew pop this turn.
A bit more scouting
Demos
|