As a French person I feel like it's my duty to explain strikes to you. - AdrienIer

Create an account  

The Mapmaker's Companion

This thread is meant as a resource for anyone interested in making custom maps for Civ4. While I have some experience in the area, I don't proclaim anything herein as facts, but more a guideline to get started. Hopefully it will also serve as a place for other map-makers to share their tricks, which I can work into the text.

Part 1: Concepts
Part 2: Basic Balancing
Part 3: Starts
Part 4: World Design
Part 5: Worldbuilder Basics
Part 6: Worldbuilder Hacks
Addendum: Tips and Tricks
Addendum: Resources
Playing: PB74
Played: PB58 - PB59 - PB62 - PB66 - PB67
Dedlurked: PB56 (Amicalola) - PB72 (Greenline)
Maps: PB60 - PB61 - PB63 - PB68 - PB70 - PB73 - PB76

There are two kinds of people in the world: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data

Part 1: Concepts

What exactly does making a map for cIV entail? There's no set answer, as it depends on what kind of map is being requested. The most important step is deciding what kind of map you want to make, and what they players want to play on. You go into this process with an idea (subconciously or not) of how your map should look. Roughly ordered by amount of work needed, the kinds of map can be classified as:

1. Random (see PB64 and PB69)
  2. Modified (see PB61 and PB63)
  3. Crafted (see PB60 and PB70)

Random usually means rolling two dozen or so maps, and pick the ones with most interesting shapes for further analysis. Main focus of analysis should be neighbor-count and areas of expansion, the goal of these games is usually more towards playable fun than perfectly balanced. In general these games should be modified as lightly as possible, just ensuring access to the basic strategics of copper, horse, iron and oil, with possibly light start editing.
Example: For PB64, Mjmd rolled a map, and made sure everyone had access to copper/iron/horse for bare minimum balance.