December 14th, 2010, 15:39
Posts: 901
Threads: 28
Joined: Oct 2008
I think I did not mention it yet. MoM has conserved remnants of an internal debug mode. It may be useful for testing and other purposes.
The debug mode can be set by putting 0x30D16 in Wizards.exe from 00 to 01.
Known effects:
ALT+A ....... automates turns, you can't move, but AIs move normally (same as Time stop spell).
ALT+K ....... switches Strategic combat On/Off
ALT+N ....... shows the X,Y coordinates and the continent number on the overland map
X ......... on City_internal screen shows extra debug info
crash diagnostics (don't know if it works)
RNG is reseed with a constant, so that the effects are fully repeatable on another computer - but I don't know if it works for battles (would be nice to know)
December 15th, 2010, 11:44
Posts: 973
Threads: 20
Joined: Oct 2010
Very nice!
This will be helpful in troubleshooting problems!
--I like ILSe
January 10th, 2012, 12:18
Posts: 104
Threads: 0
Joined: Oct 2010
kyrub Wrote:RNG is reseed with a constant, so that the effects are fully repeatable on another computer - but I don't know if it works for battles (would be nice to know)
I suggest reseeding the random generator with (turn count + something + seed salt) at the beginning of each turn and when loading the game. This way the effects are fully repeatable. Seed salt is non zero positive constant, which ensures better randomness. Limitation with this implementation is the game events'd be same for all games.
Seed value should be combination of more than 1 variable. For instance, combination of unit count, town count, gold amount, mana count, spell count, turn count, land mass, difficulty level et. cetera. This removes strong dependency on turn count. I think good seed to be (turn count + mana & gold amounts). Add mana & gold incomes for more complexity.
Posts: 401
Threads: 31
Joined: May 2012
kyrub Wrote:The debug mode can be set by putting 0x30D16 in Wizards.exe from 00 to 01.
Known effects:
ALT+A ....... automates turns, you can't move, but AIs move normally (same as Time stop spell).
ALT+K ....... switches Strategic combat On/Off
ALT+N ....... shows the X,Y coordinates and the continent number on the overland map
X ......... on City_internal screen shows extra debug info
crash diagnostics (don't know if it works)
RNG is reseed with a constant, so that the effects are fully repeatable on another computer - but I don't know if it works for battles (would be nice to know)
@Kyrub: Now you changed the game so that X into the city moves to bext city. 
How does the key in debug mode work now?
@ILS: can the debug mode be temporary enabled from the Tweaker during the game without permanently changing Wizards.exe?
Only the people crazy enough to think they can change the world of Arcanus and Myrror can do it.
Posts: 973
Threads: 20
Joined: Oct 2010
FrancoK Wrote:@ILS: can the debug mode be temporary enabled from the Tweaker during the game without permanently changing Wizards.exe?
Yes. It's in the EXE:Game data section.
When connected to a game its effect is temporary.
When you manually load wizards.exe, change it, and save it, its effect is permanent.
--I like ILSe
Posts: 401
Threads: 31
Joined: May 2012
I like Serena Wrote:Yes. It's in the EXE:Game data section.
When connected to a game its effect is temporary.
When you manually load wizards.exe, change it, and save it, its effect is permanent. Thank you.
Only the people crazy enough to think they can change the world of Arcanus and Myrror can do it.
September 23rd, 2012, 18:48
Posts: 973
Threads: 20
Joined: Oct 2010
I just found out that the debug flag enables 2 more keys:
F11 ....... exit with a memory usage message.
F12 ....... make a screen dump into a SCRDMP00.FLI file.
--I like ILSe
September 2nd, 2020, 20:22
(This post was last modified: September 3rd, 2020, 17:58 by JimBalcomb.
Edit Reason: mention username
)
Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2014
(September 23rd, 2012, 18:48)I like Serena Wrote: I just found out that the debug flag enables 2 more keys:
F11 ....... exit with a memory usage message.
F12 ....... make a screen dump into a SCRDMP00.FLI file. @"I like Serena"
Apologies for asking 10 years later, but I just came across this post. Do you happen to recall in the code where you saw those options?
I have been working on disassembling MoM for years, but do not recall having noticed any such reference(s).
I had thought I had all the 'debug_flag' references documented.
September 6th, 2020, 10:35
Posts: 8
Threads: 1
Joined: Sep 2014
@"I like Serena"
I found them! Please excuse my previous reply.
It just took a few days for it to (re)occur to me to work down from the DOS Get Enhanced Keystroke Interrupt and then also to find the right information on the enhanced scancodes.
And, now, I'm fixated on the subsequent code that manipulates and makes use of the codes. :|
November 28th, 2020, 19:17
Posts: 150
Threads: 3
Joined: Nov 2020
There are 6 functions that call the one with the DOS interrupt. Of those, one is unused, one does nothing with the input (it's an input clear function), and one only processes the debug keys (it's a "press any key" function). Then there are two edit box input handlers for the two different types of text edit controls, and finally one routine that actually processes keystrokes other than text input. That's the one at $1A959 in wizards.exe or $18E9B in magic.exe. In short, it does this:
"processes keystrokes without activating controls,
like moving the mouse cursor around or progressing
ALT-string triggers, but also sets into the return
pointer any control with a hotkey match, and returns
the pressed key itself as well"
|